Staff

Academic staff

Name Position / Program Contact
Professor Pookong KeeDirector, Asia InstituteEmail: pkee@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5554
Dr Abdul-Samad Abdullah Arabic Studies Email:abdulsa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5672
Dr Kylie Baxter Islamic Studies Email: kabaxter@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5061
Dr Ana Dragojlovic Faculty of Arts Lecturer in Gender Studies Email: ana.dragojlovic@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9039
Dr Liping Du Chinese Studies Email: lpd@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5393
Dr Michael EwingDeputy Director, Asia Institute
Indonesian Studies (Convenor)
Email: mce@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7557
Assoc. Professor Jia Gao Chinese Studies Email: jia@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8894
Professor Vedi Hadiz Asian Studies Email: vedi.hadiz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4329
Dr Edwin Jurriƫns Indonesian Studies Email: edwin.jurriens@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7594
Dr Muhammad Kamal Arabic and Islamic Studies Email: muhammad@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8197
Professor Binod Khadria Faculty of Arts Asian Scholar Email: binod.khadria@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2202
Assoc. Professor Yongxian Luo Chinese Studies Email: yongxian@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4282
Dr Claire Maree Japanese Studies Email: cmaree@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4108
Dr Christina Mayer Arabic Studies (Convenor) Email: cmayer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4223
Dr Lewis Mayo Asian Studies Email: lmayo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8907
Professor Anne McLaren Chinese Studies Email: a.mclaren@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5149
Dr Dave McRae Senior Research Fellow Email: david.mcrae@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3161
Dr Ikuko Nakane Japanese Studies Email: inakane@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8893
Professor Akihiro Ogawa Japanese Studies Email: akihiro.ogawa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7037
Dr Jun Ohashi Japanese Studies Email: juno@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4263
Assoc. Professor Nana Oishi Japanese Studies Email: nana.oishi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4844
Ms Nani Pollard Indonesian Studies Email: nhp@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8198
Professor Thomas Reuter ARC Future Fellow Email: treuter@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4281
Dr Gerald Roche DECRA Fellow Email: g.roche@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9598
Dr Sarah Rogers Research Fellow - Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies Email: rogerssm@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2010
Professor Abdullah SaeedDirector, National Centre of Excellence for Islamic Studies and Sultan of Oman Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies
Islamic Studies (Convenor)
Email: a.saeed@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6861
Dr Ken Setiawan McKenzie Postdoctoral Fellow Email: setiawan.k@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0237
Dr Sow Keat Tok Chinese Studies Email: sowkeat.tok@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8333
Dr Etsuko Toyoda Japanese Studies (Convenor) Email: etsuko@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5463
Dr Yasuhisa Watanabe Japanese Studies Email: watanabe@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5552
Mr Justin Wejak Indonesian Studies Email: justinw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7184
Professor Christine WongDirector, Centre for Contemporary Chinese StudiesEmail: christine.wong@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5925
Professor Yang Yao Faculty of Arts Asian Scholar Email: yang.yao@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9620
Ms Juliet Zhao Coordinator, Master of Translation Email: juliet.zhao@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4202
Dr Shaoming Zhou Chinese Studies (Convenor) Email: shaoming@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4945

Honorary staff, visiting scholars and associates

NamePositionContact
Assoc. Professor Alexander Adelaar Honorary Principal Fellow Email: karlaa@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Richard Chauvel Honorary Fellow Email: rchauvel@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Edwin Crawcour Associate Email: edwin.crawcour@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Iori Hamada Associate Email: hamada.i@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Shakira Hussein Honorary Fellow Email: shussein@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Mayuko Itoh Associate Email: mayuko.itoh@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Joel Kahn Professorial Fellow Email: joel.kahn@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Michael Leigh Associate Email: mleigh@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Anthony Milner Honorary Professorial Fellow Email: A.Milner@asialink.unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Jane Munro Honorary Principal Fellow Email: jmunro@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Allan Patience Honorary Principal Fellow Email: allan.patience@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Hussain Mohi-ud-Din Qadri Visitor (Academic) Email: hussain.mohi@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Bianca Smith Honorary Principal Fellow Email: bianca.smith@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Maila Stivens Honorary Principal Fellow Email: m.stivens@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Priya SrinivasanHonorary FellowEmail: TBC
Dr Yuxing Zhou Associate Email: zyx@unimelb.edu.au

Professional staff

NamePositionContact
Ms Rachel Ballamy School Manager Email: rachael.ballamy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8588
Ms Cathleen Benevento Administration Officer Email: cjbe@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5554
Ms Robyn Borg Team Leader, Academic Programs (AI) Email: borgr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0155
Ms Nurbanu Emniyet Events and Project Support (NCEIS) Email: nurbanu.emniyet@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3559
Ms Christine Lancaster Administrative Support Officer (CCCS) Email: c.lancaster@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0141
Ms Leena Sookramanien Teaching and Research Officer (AI) Email: leenas@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3674