The Faculty of Arts is one of ten Faculties at the University of Melbourne

The Arts Faculty Board and the Arts Faculty Executive Committee chaired by the Dean are the two key governance for the Faculty of Arts, with the Humanities Foundation Board established in 2013 to oversee the Faculty’s fundraising efforts in support of the humanities disciplines.

Arts Faculty Executive

The Faculty Executive Committee (AFEC) has responsibility for the overall strategic direction of the Faculty and its academic and financial performance. AFEC comprises the Dean, Deputy Dean, Faculty Executive Director, five Heads of Schools and five Associate Deans. Faculty Business Unit Managers and School Managers also attend on rotation.

Arts Faculty Board

The Faculty Board considers key matters of Faculty business for the purpose of wider collegial consultation, including consideration of the minutes of the Faculty Standing Committees. The Board comprises nominees from the Faculty Schools, representatives of other Faculties and University bodies, and student representatives.

Faculty standing committees

AFEC and Faculty Board are supported by a number of sub-committees that are responsible for Faculty education and student matters, research quality, partnerships, fundraising, engagement and diversity and inclusion.

View a full list of Faculty governing committees

Faculty of Arts strategy and operations diagram 2019-2025

cute kitten
To view a larger version please click on the image