Staff

Academic staff

Email:tezcan.gumus@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3946

Name Position / ProgramContact
Professor Vedi HadizDirector, Asia InstituteEmail: vedi.hadiz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: Executive Assistant
+61 3 8344 5554
Dr Abdul-Samad Abdullah Arabic Studies ConvenorEmail: abdulsa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5672
Dr Suraya Afiff Faculty of Arts Asia Scholar Email: suraya.afiff@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Kylie BaxterIslamic Studies Convenor Email: kabaxter@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5061
Dr Liping Du Chinese Studies Email: lpd@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5393
Associate Professor Michael EwingIndonesian StudiesEmail: mce@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7557
Professor Jia Gao Chinese Studies Email: jia@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8894
Associate Professor Adam Fforde Associate Professor in South East Asian Studies Email: fforde@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jonathan Glade Japanese Studies Email: jon.glade@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2707 
Dr Tezcan GumusIslamic StudiesEmail: tezcan.gumus@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3946
Dr Edwin JurriënsIndonesian Studies ConvenorEmail: edwin.jurriens@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7594
Professor Pookong Kee Professor of Asian Studies Email: pkee@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5580
Dr Xiao Han Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies Email: xiao.han1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4936
Dr Muhammad Kamal Arabic and Islamic Studies Email: muhammad@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8197
Associate Professor Ester Leung Master of Translation ConvenorEmail: ester.leung@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 834 4893
Dr Delia Lin Chinese Studies Email: delia.lin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3387
Associate Professor Yongxian Luo Chinese Studies Email: yongxian@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4282
Professor Anne McLaren Chinese Studies Email: a.mclaren@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5149
Dr Graeme Macrae Research Fellow - Indonesian Studies Email: macrae.g@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Dave McRae Indonesian Studies Email: david.mcrae@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3161
Associate Professor Claire MareeJapanese Studies Convenor Email: cmaree@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4108
Dr Christina Mayer Arabic Studies Email: cmayer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4223
Dr Lewis Mayo Asian Studies Email: lmayo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8907
Dr Kylie Moore-Gilbert Islamic Studies Email: kylie.moore@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5153
Ms Masako Nagayama Japanese Studies (Principal Tutor) Email: masako@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Ikuko NakaneJapanese Studies ConvenorEmail: inakane@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8893
Professor Akihiro Ogawa Japanese Studies Email: akihiro.ogawa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7037
Dr Sunyoung Oh Senior Lecturer, Korean Studies Email: sunyoung.oh@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1511
Dr Jun Ohashi Japanese Studies Email: juno@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4263
Associate Professor Nana Oishi Japanese Studies Email: nana.oishi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4844
Professor Thomas Reuter Professor of Indonesian Studies Email: treuter@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4281
Dr Sarah Rogers Chinese Studies Email: rogerssm@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2010
Professor Andrew RosserDeputy Director, Asia InstituteEmail: andrew.rosser@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5629
Professor Abdullah SaeedDirector, National Centre for Contemporary Islamic Studies and Sultan of Oman Professor of Arab and Islamic Studies Email: a.saeed@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6861
Dr Ken Setiawan Lecturer in Indonesian and Asian Studies Email: setiawan.k@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0237
Dr Craig Smith Translation Studies (Chinese) Email: craig.smith1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4630
Dr Jay SongKorean Studies ConvenorEmail: jay.song@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8852
Dr Anthony Spires Deputy Director, Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies / Chinese Studies Email: anthony.spires@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3874
Dr Sow Keat Tok Chinese Studies Email: sowkeat.tok@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8333
Dr Etsuko Toyoda Japanese StudiesEmail: etsuko@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5463
Professor Mark WangDirector, Centre for Contemporary Chinese StudiesEmail: myw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0807
Dr Yasuhisa Watanabe Japanese Studies Email: watanabe@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5552
Dr Justin Wejak Indonesian Studies Email: justinw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7184
Professor Christine Wong Professor in Chinese Studies, Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies Email: christine.wong@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5925
Dr Lei Yu Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies Email: lei.yu@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0497
Ms Ruonan Zeng Chinese Studies (Principal Tutor) Email: zengr1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9770
Dr Maki Yoshida Teaching specialist, Japanese Studies Email: yoshida.m@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Shaoming ZhouChinese Studies ConvenorEmail: shaoming@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4945

Honorary staff, visiting scholars and associates

NamePositionContact
Associate Professor Alexander Adelaar Honorary Principal Fellow Email: karlaa@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Claudia Astarita Honorary Fellow Email: claudia.astarita@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Richard Chauvel Honorary Fellow Email: richard.chauvel@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ryan Gustafsson Honorary Fellow Email: gus@unimelb.edu.au
Dr David Hanan Honorary Fellow Email: david.hanan@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Riaz Hassan Honorary Senior Fellow Email: hassan.r@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Shakira Hussein Honorary Fellow Email: asia-institute@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Anthony Milner Honorary Professorial Fellow Email: A.Milner@asialink.unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Jane Munro Honorary Principal Fellow Email: jmunro@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Hussain Mohi-ud-Din Qadri Honorary Fellow Email: mohi-ud-din.hussain@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Richard Robison Honorary Professorial FellowEmail: richard.robison@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Maila Stivens Honorary Principal Fellow Email: m.stivens@unimelb.edu.au
Professor David Walker Honorary Professorial Fellow Email: david.walker2@unimelb.edu.au

Professional staff

NamePositionContact
Ms Rachael Ballamy School Manager (Tuesday, Thursday, Friday) (on maternity leave)Email: rachael.ballamy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8588
Ms Denise Gaffy Acting School ManagerEmail: dgaffy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5143
Ms Daniela Alavanja Administration Officer | Events | Executive Assistant to Professor Vedi Hadiz Email: daniela.alavanja@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5554
Ms Robyn Borg Team Leader, Academic Programs (AI) Email: borgr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0155
Ms Madalain Dolic Teaching and Research Officer (AI) Email: madalain@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1300
Ms Cathy Harper Editor, Melbourne Asia Review Email: catherine.harper1@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Moira Millar Administrative Support Officer | Events | Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies Email: moira.millar@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3758
Ms Lu Lin Administrative Support Officer, Global Japan office Email: lu.lin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3758