Staff

Academic staff

Name Position / ProgramContact
Professor Vedi HadizDirector, Asia InstituteEmail: vedi.hadiz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: Executive Assistant
+61 3 8344 5554
Dr Abdul-Samad Abdullah Arabic Studies (Convenor) Email: abdulsa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5672
Dr Suraya Afiff Faculty of Arts Asia Scholar Email: suraya.afiff@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Kylie Baxter Islamic Studies Email: kabaxter@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5061
Dr Liping Du Chinese Studies Email: lpd@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5393
Dr Michael EwingIndonesian Studies (Convenor)Email: mce@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7557
Assoc. Professor Jia Gao Chinese Studies Email: jia@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8894
Dr Jonathan Glade Japanese Studies Email: jon.glade@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2707
Dr Edwin Jurriëns Indonesian Studies Email: edwin.jurriens@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7594
Professor Pookong Kee TBC Email: pkee@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5580 
Dr Xiao Han Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies Email: xiao.han1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4936
Dr Muhammad Kamal Arabic and Islamic Studies Email: muhammad@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8197
Dr Delia Lin Chinese Studies Email: delia.lin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3387
Assoc. Professor Yongxian Luo Chinese Studies Email: yongxian@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4282
Professor Anne McLaren Chinese Studies Email: a.mclaren@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5149
Dr Graeme Macrae Research Fellow - Indonesian Studies Email: macrae.g@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Dave McRae Indonesian Studies Email: david.mcrae@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3161
Dr Claire Maree Japanese Studies Email: cmaree@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4108
Dr Christina Mayer Arabic Studies Email: cmayer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4223
Dr Lewis Mayo Asian Studies Email: lmayo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8907
Dr Kylie Moore-Gilbert Islamic Studies Email: kylie.moore@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5153
Ms Masako Nagayama Japanese Studies (Principal Tutor) Email: masako@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ikuko Nakane Japanese Studies Email: inakane@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8893
Professor Akihiro Ogawa Japanese Studies Email: akihiro.ogawa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7037
Dr Jun Ohashi Japanese Studies Email: juno@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4263
Assoc. Professor Nana Oishi Japanese Studies Email: nana.oishi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4844
Professor Thomas Reuter ARC Future Fellow Email: treuter@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4281
Dr Sarah Rogers Chinese Studies Email: rogerssm@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2010
Professor Andrew RosserDeputy Director, Asia InstituteEmail: andrew.rosser@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5629
Professor Abdullah SaeedDirector, National Centre for Contemporary Islamic Studies and Sultan of Oman Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies
Islamic Studies (Convenor)
Email: a.saeed@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6861
Dr Ken Setiawan McKenzie Postdoctoral Fellow Email: setiawan.k@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0237
Dr Craig Smith Translation Studies (Chinese) Email: craig.smith1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4630
Dr Jay Song Korean Studies Email: jay.song@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8852
Dr Anthony Spires Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies/Chinese Studies Email: anthony.spires@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3874
Dr Sow Keat Tok Chinese Studies Email: sowkeat.tok@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8333
Dr Etsuko ToyodaJapanese Studies (Convenor) Email: etsuko@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5463
Dr Zoe Wang Research Fellow - Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies Email: zoe.wang@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4035
Dr Yasuhisa Watanabe Japanese Studies Email: watanabe@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5552
Dr Justin Wejak Indonesian Studies Email: justinw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7184
Professor Marty Whyte Faculty of Arts Asia Scholar Email: martin.whyte@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0090
Professor Christine WongDirector, Centre for Contemporary Chinese StudiesEmail: christine.wong@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5925
Dr Fengshi Wu Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies/Chinese Studies Email: fengshi.wu@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5866 
Ms Ruonan Zeng Chinese Studies (Principal Tutor) Email: zengr1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9770 
Dr Maki Yoshida Teaching specalist, Japanese Studies Email: yoshida.m@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Shaoming Zhou Chinese Studies (Convenor) Email: shaoming@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4945
Professor Ling Zhu Faculty of Arts Asia Scholar Email: zhuling.zhu@unimelb.edu.au

Honorary staff, visiting scholars and associates

NamePositionContact
Assoc. Professor Alexander Adelaar Honorary Principal Fellow Email: karlaa@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Claudia Astarita Honorary Fellow Email: claudia.astarita@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Richard Chauvel Honorary Fellow Email: richard.chauvel@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Edwin Crawcour Associate Email: edwin.crawcour@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Andy Fuller Honorary Fellow Email: fuller.a@unimelb.edu.au
Dr David Hanan Honorary Fellow Email: david.hanan@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Riaz Hassan Honorary Senior Fellow Email: hassan.r@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Benjamin Hegarty Honorary Fellow Email: benjamin.hegarty@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Shakira Hussein Honorary Fellow Email: asia-institute@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Michael Leigh Associate Email: mleigh@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Anthony Milner Honorary Professorial Fellow Email: A.Milner@asialink.unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Jane Munro Honorary Principal Fellow Email: jmunro@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Hussain Mohi-ud-Din Qadri Honorary Fellow Email: mohi-ud-din.hussain@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Robertus Robet University Guest (Academic) Email: robet.robet@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Maila Stivens Honorary Principal Fellow Email: m.stivens@unimelb.edu.au
Professor David Walker Honorary Professorial Fellow Email: david.walker2@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Ruiqiang Zheng University Guest (Academic) Email: ruiqiang.zheng@unimelb.edu.au

Professional staff

NamePositionContact
Ms Rachel Ballamy School Manager
ON MATERNITY LEAVE 2018
Email: rachael.ballamy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8588
TBA Administration Officer | Events | Executive Assistant to Professor Pookong Kee Email:
Phone: +61 3 
Ms Robyn Borg Team Leader, Academic Programs (AI) Email: borgr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0155
Ms Denise GaffyActing School ManagerEmail: dgaffy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5143
Ms Lu Lin Administrative Support Officer, Centre for Contemporary Chinese Studies Email: lu.lin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3758
Ms Leena Sookramanien Teaching and Research Officer (AI) Email: leenas@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3674