Australian Centre Literary Awards 2019


Australian Centre Literary Awards 2019

Village Roadshow Theatrette
State Library of Victoria
179 Latrobe Street, Melbourne


Share in the celebration and join with us as we congratulate the recipients of this year’s literary awards at the Melbourne Writers Festival. Prizes are awarded in the fields of life writing, Indigenous screenwriting, Australian and Irish poetry, and creative writing.

The following prizes will be awarded:

  • Kate Challis RAKA Award for best script for film or television by an Indigenous writer.
  • Peter Blazey Fellowship to further a work in progress in biography, autobiography or life-writing.
  • Vincent Buckley Poetry Prize for poetry in English by an Irish poet.
  • Wesley Michel Wright Prize for poetry in English by an Australian poet.

Hosted by Ken Gelder and Denise Varney.

This event is supported by the Faculty of Arts, the University of Melbourne and Melbourne Writers Festival.


  • Professor Denise Varney
    Professor Denise Varney, Professor, English and Theatre Studies
  • Professor Ken Gelder
    Professor Ken Gelder, Professor of English and Theatre Studies