Boisbouvier Founding Chair in Australian Literature

Award winning novelist, Richard Flanagan, has been appointed as the Boisbouvier Founding Chair in Australian Literature at The University of Melbourne.

The Chair, which is the first of its kind in Victoria, aims to celebrate and promote Australia's rich literary traditions and abilities. It was made possible by a $5 million gift to The University of Melbourne by merchant banker and president of the State Library Board, Mr John Wylie AM and his wife, Mrs Myriam Boisbouvier-Wylie.

Richard Flanagan was born in Longford, Tasmania, in 1961. His books include Death of a River Guide, The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Gould’s Book of Fish, The Unknown Terrorist and Wanting. He directed a feature film version of The Sound of One Hand Clapping. His journalism appears in various publications, including the New Yorker, Le Monde, Süddeutsche Zeitung, and la Repubblica.

The Narrow Road to the Deep North won the 2014 Man Booker Prize.

Richard Flanagan will be working within the Australian Centre, located in the School of Culture and Communication.

List of works

Death of a River Guide (McPhee Gribble, Melbourne, 1994)
The Sound of One Hand Clapping (Picador, Sydney, 1997)
Gould's Book of Fish: A Novel in Twelve Fish (Picador, Sydney, 2001)
The Unknown Terrorist (Picador, Sydney, 2006)
Wanting (Knopf, Sydney, 2008)
The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Knopf, Sydney, 2013)

A Terrible Beauty: History of the Gordon River Country (Greenhouse, Melbourne, 1985)
The Rest of the World Is Watching - Tasmania and the Greens[43] (co-editor) (Pan, Sydney, 1990)
Codename Iago: The Story of John Friedrich (co-writer) (Heinemann, Melbourne, 1991)
Parish-Fed Bastards. A History of the Politics of the Unemployed in Britain, 1884-1939 (Greenwood Press, Connecticut, 1991)
And What Do You Do, Mr Gable? (Knopf, Sydney, 2011)

The Sound of One Hand Clapping (director and scriptwriter, 1998)
Australia (co-writer, 2008)