Australian Centre Literary Awards 2017


Australian Centre Literary Awards 2017

The Cube
Australian Centre for the Moving Image
Federation Square, Melbourne 3000


Join the Australian Centre and the Faculty of Arts in congratulating the winners of this year’s literary awards at the Melbourne Writers Festival. Prizes are awarded in the fields of life writing, poetry and best stage play by an Indigenous artist.

Hosted by Ken Gelder and Denise Varney, co-directors of the Australian Centre.

Kate Challis RAKA Award $20,000 (approx.) award for the best stage play by an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander.

Peter Blazey Fellowship $15,000 (approx.) award to further a work in progress in biography, autobiography or life-writing.

Vincent Buckley Poetry Prize $12,000 (approx.) award for an Australian poet to travel to Ireland in 2018.

Wesley Michel Wright Prize $4,000 (approx.) award for poetry in English by an Australian poet.

This event is supported by the Melbourne Writers Festival.


  • Professor Ken  Gelder
  • Professor Denise Varney
    Professor Denise Varney, Dean, Faculty of Arts