Applications open for 2019 Ruth Adeney Koori Award for Indigenous screenwriters

The 2019 Kate Challis RAKA Award is now open for applications from Indigenous screenwriters.

RAKA, which means ‘five’ in the Pintupi language, is awarded to an Indigenous artist in one of five categories annually, including creative prose, poetry, script writing, drama and visual arts.

In 2019, the $20,000 award celebrates the best script for film or television by an Indigenous writer screened in the last five years.

The RAKA, or Ruth Adeney Koori Award, was first awarded in 1991 to help advance recognition of Aboriginal artistic achievements. The RAKA was one of the earliest prizes for Indigenous artists in Australia and is administered by the Australian Centre within the Faculty of Arts at the University of Melbourne.

The award was established by eminent art and cultural historian Professor Emeritus Bernard Smith. It is named to honour the memory of his late wife, Kate Challis, who was known in her youth as Ruth Adeney.

Past winners of the RAKA include filmmaker Ivan Sen (2014 and 2004), visual artist Yhonnie Scarce (2019), author Alexis Wright (2016) and sculptor Lin Onus (1993).

See the full list of past winners

Apply now