Ernest Scott Prize

5th Nov 2018
31st Dec 2018
Enrolment status
Alumnus; Other
University Trust Record


Study Area



Established in 1943, the prestigious annual Ernest Scott Prize is awarded to the most distinguished written contribution to the history of Australia or New Zealand, or to the history of colonisation in these countries.

List of winners - 1943 onwards


Approximately $13,000


  • Specifically for published research on the history of Australia/New Zealand.
  • Must be original work. Edited or republished works are not eligible.
  • An author must be normally resident in Australia or New Zealand or the respective external territories.


Work must:

  • Be based upon original research into the history of Australia or New Zealand, or to the history of colonisation in these countries.
  • Have been published during the two calendars years immediately prior to the first day of January of the year in which it is to be awarded.
  • Be entered by publishers. Authors are advised to request their publishers to enter their books on their behalf if they wish to enter.
  • Winners will be invited to attend the announcement at the Kathleen Fitzpatrick Lecture at the University of Melbourne on 3 April 2019 to receive their award.
  • Winners will also be invited to present the 'Ernest Scott Lecture' in October 2019 at the University of Melbourne.

Recipients are required to:

  • Accept award online within 21 days.


Shortlisted entries will be announced mid-March 2019.

Application process

  1. Complete an online application form.
  2. Mail a copy of the book to each of the two judges (books submitted will not be returned). The postal addresses for the judges will be supplied via email alert after the online application form has been successfully submitted. Please attach a cover page to each book stating:
    • Publisher, publisher contact name, position, email address, contact phone number
    • Book details, Author, date published, ISBN number


Emily Scott founded this prize to perpetuate the memory of her husband Emeritus Professor Sir Ernest Scott Knight Bachelor, who was professor of History at the University of Melbourne for 23 years. The prize commemorates Ernest Scott's interest in the development of Australian historical studies.