Our staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Professor Peter Otto Head of School, Acting, Professor of English; Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Email: peterjo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5482
Room: W212

Art History and Art Curatorship

Staff memberPositionContact
Professor Anne Dunlop Herald Chair Fine Art; Professor of Art History and Art Curatorship Email: anne.dunlop@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9948
Room: E372
Dr Mark Erdmann Lecturer in Art History Email: merdmann@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4305
Room: E364
Professor Charles Green Professor of Contemporary Art Email: c.green@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:+61 3 8344 4429
Room: E371
Associate Professor Alison Inglis Associate Professor of Art History Email: asi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7448
Room: E362
Dr Susan Lowish Senior Lecturer in Australian Art History Email: susan.lowish@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5246
Room: E369
Associate Professor Christopher Marshall Associate Professor of Art History Email: crmars@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5224
Room: E366
Dr Matthew Martin Lecturer in Art History and Curatorship Email: mmartin1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2779
Room: E370
Professor Ian McLeanHead of Program, Hugh Ramsay Chair in Australian Art History Email: i.mclean@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5620
Room: W309
Associate Professor Claire Roberts Associate Professor of Art History and Curatorship Email: claire.roberts@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5483
Room: E363
Associate Professor Anthony White Associate Professor of Art History Email: a.white@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3408
Room: E368
Dr Wulan Dirgantoro McKenzie Postdoctoral Fellow Email: wdirgantoro@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0635
Room: X359
Professor Margaret Manion Professor Emeritus Email: m.manion@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Jaynie Anderson Professor Emeritus Email: jaynie@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Jeanette Hoorn Professorial Fellow Email: jjhoorn@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Robert Gaston Principal Fellow Email: rgaston@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor David Marshall Principal Fellow Email: david.marshall@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Vivien Gaston Fellow Email: vgaston@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sheridan Palmer Fellow Email: palmers@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Georgina Walker Fellow Email: walker.g@unimelb.edu.au

Arts and Cultural Management

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Christiaan De Beukelaer Senior Lecturer in Arts and Cultural Management Email: christiaan.debeukelaer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3709
Room: X351
Assocociate Professor Beth Driscoll Associate Professor of Publishing and Communications, Deputy Head of School Email: driscoll@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3029
Room: 103, 27 Royal Parade
Associate Professor Kate MacNeill Associate Professor of Arts Management Email: cmmacn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8753
Room: 244 Old Arts
Dr Guy MorrowHead of Program, Lecturer in Arts and Cultural Management Email: guy.morrow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2168
Room: X353
Dr Kirsten Stevens Lecturer in Arts and Cultural Management Email: kirsten.stevens@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7879
Room: X356
Dr Caitlin Vincent Lecturer in Creative Industries Email: caitlin.vincent@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1945
Room: X360
Associate Professor Jo Caust Principal Fellow Email: jo.caust@unimelb.edu.au

Indigenous Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Lilly Brown Lecturer in Indigenous Studies Email: lauren.brown@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3977
Room: W314
Professor Barry Judd Director Indigenous Studies Email: barry.judd@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3374
Room: W315
Professor Paul Tapsell Professor of Indigenous Studies Email: paul.tapsell@unimelb.edu.au

Creative Writing

Staff memberPositionContact
Professor Christian Bök Professor of Creative Writing Email: christian.bok@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8050
Room: W215
Dr Grant Caldwell Senior Lecturer Poetry and Prose, Creative Writing Email: cal@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7634
Room: E277
Dr Amanda Johnson Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: amandaj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7274
Room: E269
Dr Odette Kelada Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: okelada@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5566
Room: E275
Dr Jeanine Leane Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: j.leane@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1307
Room: E276
Dr Elizabeth MacFarlane Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: ecm@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8193
Room: E272
Dr Radha O'Meara Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: radha.omeara@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5378
Room: E367
Dr Eddie PatersonHead of Program, Lecturer in Creative Writing, Script Writing Email: eddiep@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9727
Room: E267
Dr Maria Tumarkin Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: m.tumarkin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4988
Room:
E279
Dr Jack Hibberd Vice-Chancellor's Fellow Email: jhibberd@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Kevin Brophy Professor Emeritus Email: kevinjb@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Joanna Murray-Smith Fellow Email: joanna.murray@unimelb.edu.au

English and Theatre Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Sarah Balkin Lecturer in English and Theatre Studies Email: sarah.balkin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8617
Room: E274
Associate Professor Justin Clemens Associate Professor of English Email: jclemens@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5502
Room: E266
Professor Deirdre Coleman Robert Wallace Chair of English Email: colemand@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5496
Room: W208
Professor Rachel Fensham Professor of Theatre and Dance Email: rachel.fensham@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8630
Room: X357
Professor Ken Gelder Professor of English; Co-Director of the Australian Centre Email: kdgelder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5485
Room: E265
Dr Joseph Hughes Senior Lecturer in English and Theatre Studies Email: joseph.hughes@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7635
Room: W214
Associate Professor Anne Maxwell Associate Professor of English Email: emaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5481
Room: E273
Professor Ronan McDonald Gerry Higgins Chair in Irish Studies Email: ronan.mcdonald@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7012
Room: E264
Associate Professor David McInnis Associate Professor of English and Theatre Studies Email: mcinnisd@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5498
Room: E271
Professor Peter Otto Professor of English; Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Email: peterjo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5482
Room: W212
Associate Professor Paul RaeHead of Program, Associate Professor of Theatre Studies Email: paul.rae@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1676
Room: E270
Professor Stephanie Trigg Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor and Reader of English; Director of the Melbourne Node for the ARC Centre of Excellent for the History of Emotions (CHE) Email: sjtrigg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5504
Room: X355
Professor Clara Tuite Professor of English, Deputy Head of School  Email: clarat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4216
Room: E262
Professor Denise Varney Professor of Theatre Studies; Co-Director of the Australian Centre Email: dvarney@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5242
Room: E268
Professor Alexis Wright Boisbouvier Chair in Australian Literature Email: boisbouvier-chair@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5280
Room: E365
Dr Lara Stevens Hugh Williamson Postdoctoral Fellow Email: lst@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Rachael Weaver ARC Senior Research Fellow Email: weaverra@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7635
Room: X359
Dr Marc Mierowsky McKenzie Postdoctoral Fellow Email: marc.mierowsky@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4115
Room: W115
Dr Sadiah Boonstra Senior Research Fellow, Faculty of Arts Asia Scholar Email: sadiah.boonstra@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sharon Huebner Research Fellow Email: s.huebner@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7525
Professor Christopher Wallace-Crabbe Professor Emeritus Email: ckwc@unimelb.edu.au
Room: W203
Professor Ian Donaldson Professorial Fellow Email: ido@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Simon During Professorial Fellow Email: simon.during@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Stephen Knight Professorial Fellow Email: stephen.knight@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Bernard Muir Professorial Fellow Email: bjem@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Peter Eckersall Principal Fellow Email: peckersal@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor John Rundell Principal Fellow Email: johnfr@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Stephanie Downes Fellow Email: stephanie.downes@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sean Gaston Fellow Email: gastons@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Tom Ford Fellow Email: ford.t@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Miranda StanyonARC DECRA Research FellowEmail: stanyonm@unimelb.edu.au
Room: W117

Gender Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Ana Dragojlovic Senior Lecturer in Gender Studies / Gender Studies Coordinator Email: ana.dragojlovic@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9039
Room: W121

Media and Communications

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Jennifer Beckett Senior Lecturer in Media/Marketing Communication Email: jennifer.beckett@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5293
Room: G02, 23 Royal Parade
Dr Lauren Bliss Senior Tutor, Media and Communication Email: Lauren Bliss
Phone: +61 3 9035 3393
Room: 103, 23 Royal Parade
Dr Alexandra Dane Lecturer in Professional Practice,
Coordinator Work Integrated Learning
Email: alexandra.dane@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4285
Room: 104, 23 Royal Parade 
Professor Robert Hassan Professor of Media and Communication Email: hassanr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3539
Room: 102, 25 Royal Parade
Dr Steven McIntyre Associate Lecturer (Teaching Specialist), Audio Visual Communication Email: samci@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8937
Room: 206, 21 Royal Parade
Professor Scott McQuire Professor of Media and Communication Email: mcquire@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8194
Room: 201, 21 Royal Parade
Dr Sonja Molnar Lecturer in Media and Communication Email: sonja.molnar@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
Room: G02, 25 Royal Parade
Dr Bjorn Nansen Senior Lecturer in Media and Communication Email: nansenb@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9122
Room: G03, 25 Royal Parade
Professor Nikos Papastergiadis Professor of Australian Studies Email: n.papastergiadis@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8189
Room:
101, 21 Royal Parade
Dr Philip Pond Lecturer in Media Research Methods Email: ppond@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5710
Room: G05, 25 Royal Parade
Dr Kyujin Shim Lecturer in Media Communication Email: kyujin.shim@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6719
Room: 105, 23 Royal Parade
Dr Wonsun Shin Senior Lecturer in Media and Communication Email: wonsun.shin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3519
Room: 102, 23 Royal Parade
Dr Erin Stapleton Principal Tutor (Academic Skills), Media and Communications Email: erin.stapleton@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9531
Room: 103b, 21 Royal Parade
Professor Ingrid VolkmerHead of Program, Professor of Media and Communication Email: ivolkmer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3500
Room: 101, 23 Royal Parade
Dr Wilfred Yang Wang Lecturer in Media and Society Email: Wilfred.wang@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5384
Room: 103, 25 Royal Parade
Dr Yu Zhao Research Assistant Email: yu.zhao1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0568
Room: G01, 23 Royal Parade
Professor May Lwin Asia Scholar Email: may.lwin@unimelb.edu.au
Professor John Sinclair Professorial Fellow Email: j.sinclair@unimelb.edu.au
Professor John Street Professorial Fellow Email: john.street@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Vanessa Bartlett McKenzie Postdoctoral Fellow Email: vanessa.bartlett@unimelb.edu.au
Room: W117

Centre for Advancing Journalism

Staff memberPositionContact
Ms Jo Chandler Editor The CitizenEmail: jchandler@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4037
Room: W301
Associate Professor Andrew Dodd Director Centre for Advancing Journalism Email: adodd@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5841
Room: W301C
Ms Louisa Lim Senior Lecturer in Audio Visual Journalism Email: louisa.lim@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3921
Room: W301B
Ms Lucy Smy Lecturer in Journalism Email: lucy.smy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3985
Room: X358
Mr Benjamin Silvester Cadet Journalist Email: bsilvester@unimelb.edu.au
Room: W301 
Dr Andrea Carson Research Fellow Email: carsona@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5075
Room: W564
Dr Gael Jennings Fellow Email: gael.jennings@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Ramona Koval Fellow Email: ramona.koval@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Jim Middleton Fellow Email: jim.middleton@unimelb.edu.au

Publishing and Communications

Staff memberPositionContact
Associate Professor Mark Davis Associate Professor of Publishing and Communications Email: davismr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3349
Room: 103, 27 Royal Parade
Katherine DayLecturer in Publishing and CommunicationsEmail: day.k@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: tbc
Room: tbc
Associate Professor Beth Driscoll Associate Professor of Publishing and Communications Email: driscoll@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3029
Room: 103, 27 Royal Parade
Dr Sybil NolanHead of Program, Senior Lecturer in Publishing and Communications Email: sybil.nolan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7398
Room: 101, 27 Royal Parade

Screen and Cultural Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Annisa Beta Lecturer in Cultural Studies Email: annisa.beta@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6209
Room: W124
Professor Sean CubittHead of Program, Professor of Screen Studies Email: sean.cubitt@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1368
Room: W104
Dr Wendy Haslem Senior Lecturer in Cultural Management Email: wlhaslem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3409
Room: W101
Associate Professor Chris HealyAssociate Professor of Screen and Cultural Studies Email: clhealy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5484
Room: W103
Dr Alison Horbury Teaching Specialist in Screen Studies Email: alison.horbury@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3657
Room: W116
Dr Janice Loreck Lecturer in Screen Studies Email: janice.loreck@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9183
Room: W113
Dr Hannah McCann Lecturer in Cultural Studies Email: hannah.mccann@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0630
Room: W112
Dr Mark Nicholls Senior Lecturer in Cinema Studies Email: markdn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5669
Room: W102
Professor Purnima Mankekar Asia Scholar Email: mankekar@ucla.edu
Professor Natalya Lusty ARC Future Fellow Email: natalya.lusty@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4288
Room: W123
Associate Professor Fran Martin ARC Future Fellow Email: f.martin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5486
Room: W122
Professor Barbara Creed Professorial Fellow Email: bacreed@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Audrey Yue Professorial Fellow Email: aisy@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Joe Latham Fellow Email: joe.latham@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Lindy Allen Fellow Email:lindy.allen@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Harriette Richards Fellow Email: harriette.richards@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Grace Torcasio Senior Tutor in Cultural Studies Email: grace.torcasio@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6062
Room: W114

Australian Centre

Staff memberPositionContact
Professor Ken GelderCo-director Australian Centre; Professor of English and Theatre Studies Email: kdgelder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5485
Room: E265
Professor Denise VarneyCo-director Australian Centre; Professor of Theatre Studies Email: dvarney@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8579
Room: E268
Ms Amanda Morris Project Officer Australian Centre Email: ajmo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5280
Room: Old Arts 245
Dr Rachel Weaver ARC Senior Fellow

Email: weaverra@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7635
Room: X359

Enlightenment, Romanticism, Contemporary Culture Research Unit (ERCC)

Staff memberPositionContact
Professor Peter Otto Executive Director; Redmond Barry Distinguisted Professor Email: peterjo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5482
Room: W212
Dr Anita Archer Research Coordinator Email: anita.archer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0442
Room: E278
Dr Elias Greig Research Assistant Email: elias.greig@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0442
Room: E278
Dr Alexandra Hankinson Research Assistant Email: alexandra.hankinson@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0442
Room:
E278

Professional

Staff memberPositionContact
Charlotte Morgans School Manager Email: c.morgans@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3612
Room: W213
Jane Brown Manager, Visual Cultures Resource Centre Email: jebrown@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5562
Room: E361B
Jacqueline Doyle Executive Assistant and Events Coordinator Email: jacqueline.doyle@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3785
Room: W216
Anthony Gallivan Team Leader, Academic Programs Email: gallivan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4489
Room: W207
Rebecca HuttonTeaching and Learning OfficerEmail: rebecca.hutton@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3278
Room: W210
Annemarie Levin Administrative Assistant Email: alevin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5507
Room: W209
Michelle MorrisonSchool Operations CoordinatorEmail: michelle.morrison@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9288 3206
Room: W211
Nur Shkembi Research Coordinator Email: nur.shkembi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0242
Room: W211
Bianca Williams Coordinator Sessional Staff, Indigenous Studies Program Officer Email: bianca.williams@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8463
Room: W210