Staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Professor Lesley StirlingHead of School, Languages and Linguistics; Professor of Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: lesleyfs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5192

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Kellie Frost Lecturer in ESL Email: kmfrost@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
+61 3 9035 4944
Dr Maria Karidakis Lecturer in ESL; Convenor, IAPEmail: m.karidakis@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 (0) 401 347 394
Dr Olga Maxwell Lecturer in ESL; Convenor, ESLEmail: omaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8754
Dr Janne Morton Senior Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Assoc. Professor Neomy Storch Associate Professor of Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Megan Tindley IAP Assistant Email: megan.tindley@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 0400579025

European Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Andrew McGregor Senior Lecturer in French Studies; Convenor, European Studies Email: ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8119

French Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Bertrand Bourgeois Senior Lecturer in French Studies; Graduate Coordinator Languages Email: bbo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4504
Dr Tess Do Lecturer in French Studies Email: dot@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6987
Professor Véronique Duché A. R. Chisholm Professor of French; Convenor, French Studies Email: veronique.duche@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3516
Assoc. Professor Jacqueline Dutton Associate Professor of French Studies Email: jld@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6985
Ms Diane de Saint-Léger Lecturer in French Studies Email: ddsl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6919
Dr Andrew McGregorSenior Lecturer in French Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8119
Dr Henry Méra Senior Tutor in French Studies Email: hmera@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8129
Professor Anne Freadman Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: freadman@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Colin Nettelbeck Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: cnettel@unimelb.edu.au

German Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Assoc. Professor Heather Benbow Associate Professor of German StudiesEmail: benbow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5102
Judith Horhez DAAD Assistant 2020Email: 
Phone:
Dr Leo Kretzenbacher Senior Lecturer in German Studies Email: heinz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5209
Assoc. Professor Birgit Lang Associate Professor in German Studies; Convenor, German StudiesEmail: langb@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7667
Leonetta Leopardi Associate Lecturer in German Studies Email: leopardi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone
: +61 3 9035 5672
Professor Alison Lewis Professor of German Studies Email: lewisa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5103
Daniela Müeller DAAD Lecturer Email: daniela.mueller@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9756
Stefan Siemsen Teaching Specialist in German Studies Email: ssiemsen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2602
Dr Claudia Sandberg Fellow (Honorary)Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Dr Doris Brigitte Schuepbach Fellow (Honorary) Email: dschu@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Gerhard Schulz Professor Emeritus (Honorary)  

Italian Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Mr Matthew Absalom Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: mabsalom@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6986
Dr Malcolm AngelucciLecturer in Italian studies Email: malcolm.angelucci@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9404
Antonella Cavallini Lecturer in Italian Studies - Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Fellow (Honorary) Email: antonella.cavallini@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1942
Ms Elisabetta Ferrari Senior Tutor in Italian Studies Email: eferrari@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5177
Dr Vita Giordano Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: vita@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7666
Professor John Hajek Professor of Italian Studies, Convenor, Italian studies Email: j.hajek@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5168
Dr Laura Lori Melbourne ACIS Postdoctoral Fellow Email: laura.lori@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0298
Associate Professor Andrea RizziAssociate Professor of Italian Studies and Convenor of the Cassamarca Associate Professor in Italian Studies. Email: arizzi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6984
Dr Jo-anne Hughson Fellow (Honorary) Email: hughson@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Stephen Kolsky Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: sdkolsky@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Roberta Trapè Fellow (Honorary) Email: r.trape@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Simon West Fellow (Honorary) Email: swest1@unimelb.edu.au

Linguistics and Applied Linguistics

Assoc. Professor Brett Baker Associate Professor of Linguistics; Discipline Chair, Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: bjbaker@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4687
Dr Rosey Billington Postdoctoral Fellow in the ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: rbil@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ivy Chen Research Fellow, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: ivy.chen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
Dr Chloe Diskin Senior Lecturer in Applied Linguistics Email: chloe.diskin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3676
Dr Lucinda Davidson Postdoctoral Fellow in Indigenous child Language Development Email: lucinda.davidson@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9192
Dr Rebecca Defina Postdoctoral  Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: rebecca.defina@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5510
Dr Jason Fan Deputy Director, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: jinsongf@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8198
Dr Jennifer Green Postdoctoral Fellow in Australian Sign LanguagesEmail: jag@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3255
Ms Annemiek Huisman Research Assistant; Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: annemiek.huisman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4389
Assoc. Professor Barb KellyAssociate Professor of SociolinguisticsEmail: b.kelly@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8986
Dr Steve Kelly Indigenous Postdoctoral Fellow Email: kellysw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4520
Assoc. Professor Ute Knoch Associate Professor of Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Director, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: uknoch@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5206
Dr Debbie Loakes Postdoctoral Fellow,  Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: dloakes@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4777
Ms Angela McKenna Research Assistant, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: angela.mckenna@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6171
Dr John Mansfield DECRA Research Fellow, Linguistics and Applied LinguisticsEmail: john.mansfield@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8715
Dr Janne MortonSenior Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Dr Olga Maxwell Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Convenor of ESLEmail: omaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8754
Professor Rachel Nordlinger Professor and Reader in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Director, Research Unit of Indigenous Languages (RUIL)Email: racheln@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4227
Dr Sally O'Hagan Research Fellow, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: sohagan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3971
Mr Andrew PitmanResearch Fellow, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC)Email: a.pitman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3  9035 7681
Assoc. Professor Carsten Roever Associate Professor of Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: carsten@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4919
Professor Lesley StirlingHead of School, Languages and Linguistics
Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics
Email: lesleyfs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5192
Assoc. Professor Neomy Storch Associate Professor of Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Assoc. Professor Nick Thieberger Principal Fellow of LinguisticsEmail: thien@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8952
Dr Jill Vaughan ELDP Postdoctoral Fellow, Research Unit for Indigenous Language (RUIL)Email: j.vaughan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0909
Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Gillian Wigglesworth Professor in Linguistics and Applied LinguisticsEmail: g.wigglesworth@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4215
Dr Helen Zhao Lecturer in Applied Linguistics Email: helen.zhao@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4000
Ms Ksenia ZhaoResearch Fellow, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC)Email: ksenia.zhao@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7767
Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Emeritus Tim McNamara Professor Emeritus in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: tfmcna@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4207
Assoc. Professor Catherine Elder Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: caelder@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jean MulderSenior Fellow (Honorary)Email: jmulder@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Catrin Norrby Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: catrinn@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Elizabeth Pearce Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: elizabeth.h.pearce@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Celia Thompson Fellow (Honorary) Email: celiat@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ruth Singer Fellow (Honorary) Email: rsinger@unimelb.edu.au

Russian Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Robert Lagerberg Senior Lecturer in Russian Studies; Convenor, Russian Studies Email: robertjl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5187
Natalia BatovaSenior Tutor in Russian StudiesEmail: natalia.batova@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Judith Armstrong Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.armstrong@unimelb.edu.au

Spanish and Latin American Studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Assoc. Professor Lara AndersonAssociate Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies; Convenor, Spanish and Latin American StudiesEmail: laraba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4917
Dr Mara Favoretto Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: mara.f@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5183
Professor Adrian HearnProfessor in Latin American Studies Email: a.hearn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3295
Professor Alfredo Martinez-Exposito Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: alfredo.m@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Professor Anthony Pym Professor of Translation Studies Email: anthony.pym@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6648
Dr Claudia Sandberg Fellow (Honorary)Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Professor John Griffiths Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: jagrif@unimelb.edu.au

Professional

Staff memberPositionContact
Melissa Sharkey Manager, School of Languages and Linguistics Email: melissa.sharkey@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7319
Rohan ChandranAdministrative Officer, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC)Email: rohanc@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
Leonie Elder Academic Programs Team Leader (Acting) Email: lelder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5419
Jen Graham-Williams Executive Assistant to Head of School and School Manager Email: jennifer.graham@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Belinda Hofmeyr Research Support Officer for the Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: belinda.hofmeyr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7626
Liza Lakusa Teaching and Learning Officer Email: soll-research@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0334
Trudie Molloy Administrative Assistant Email: trudie.molloy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6642
Allyra Murray Project Officer; Research Unit for Indigenous Language (RUIL)Email: allyra.murray@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3311
Gavin Nebauer Audio Officer; Horwood Recording studio Manager Email: gavinjn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5195
Kathryn Weller Administrative Officer; Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC)Email: k.weller@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2645
Ksenia ZhaoAdministrative Officer (Test Development Specialist),  Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC)Email: ksenia.zhao@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 903 57767

Student enquiries

Undergraduate: Undergraduate students information and Stop 1

Graduate coursework: Coursework students information and Stop 1

Graduate research: Research students information and contact details

School address

School of Languages and Linguistics
Babel (Building 139)
The University of Melbourne
Parkville, VIC 3010
Australia