Staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Professor Lesley StirlingHead of School, Languages and Linguistics; Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: lesleyfs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5192

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Janne Morton Senior Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Assoc. Professor Neomy Storch Associate Professor in Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Dr Olga Maxwell Lecturer in ESL Email: omaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8754
Dr Kellie Frost Lecturer in ESL Email: kmfrost@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
+61 3 9035 4944
Dr Maria Karidakis IAP Convenor and Lecturer in ESL Email: m.karidakis@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 (0) 401 347 394
Megan Tindley IAP Assistant Email: megan.tindley@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 0400579025

European studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Andrew McGregor Senior Lecturer in French Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8119

French studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Bertrand Bourgeois Senior Lecturer in French Studies; Graduate Coordinator Languages Email: bbo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4504
Dr Tess Do Lecturer in French Studies Email: dot@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6987
Professor Véronique Duché A. R. Chisholm Professor of French; Convenor of French Studies Email: veronique.duche@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3516
Assoc. Professor Jacqueline Dutton Associate Professor in French Studies Email: jld@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6985
Dr Andrew McGregor Lecturer in French Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8119
Dr Henry Méra Senior Tutor in French Studies Email: hmera@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8129
Ms Diane de Saint-Léger Lecturer in French Studies Email: ddsl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6919
Professor Anne Freadman Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: freadman@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Colin Nettelbeck Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: cnettel@unimelb.edu.au

German studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Heather Benbow Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of German Email: benbow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5102
Dr Leo Kretzenbacher Senior Lecturer in German Studies Email: heinz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5209
Assoc. Professor Birgit Lang Associate Professor in German Studies Email: langb@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7667
Professor Alison Lewis Professor in German Studies Email: lewisa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5103
Leonetta Leopardi Teaching Specialist in German Studies Email: leopardi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone
: +61 3 9035 5672
Daniela Müeller DAAD Lecturer Email: daniela.mueller@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9756
Christin Clemens DAAD Assistant Email: christin.clemens@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
Stefan Siemsen Teaching Specialist in German Studies Email: ssiemsen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2602
Dr Claudia Sandberg Senior Research Fellow Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Dr Doris Brigitte Schuepbach Fellow (Honorary) Email: dschu@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Gerhard Schulz Professor Emeritus (Honorary)  

Italian studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Mr Matthew Absalom Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: mabsalom@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6986
Dr Malcolm Angelucci Senior Lecturer in Italian studies Email: malcolm.angelucci@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9404
Antonella Cavallini Lecturer in Italian Studies - Italian Minstry of Foreign Affairs, Fellow (Honorary) Email: antonella.cavallini@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1942
Ms Elisabetta Ferrari Senior Tutor in Italian Studies Email: eferrari@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5177
Dr Vita Giordano Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: vita@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7666
Professor John Hajek Professor in Italian Studies, Convenor of Italian studies Email: j.hajek@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5168
Associate Professor Andrea Rizzi Convenor of the Italian Program and Cassamarca Associate Professor in Italian Studies. Email: arizzi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6984
Dr Laura Lori Melbourne ACIS Post doctoral Fellow Email: laura.lori@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0298
Assoc. Professor Stephen Kolsky Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: sdkolsky@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jo-anne Hughson Fellow (Honorary) Email: hughson@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Roberta Trapè Fellow (Honorary) Email: r.trape@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Simon West Fellow (Honorary) Email: swest1@unimelb.edu.au

Linguistics and Applied Linguistics

   
Professor Lesley Stirling Head of School, Languages and Linguistics
Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics
Email: lesleyfs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5192
Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Gillian Wigglesworth Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics, Discipline Chair of Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Graduate Coordinator Languages and Linguistics Email: g.wigglesworth@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4215
Professor Rachel Nordlinger Professor and Reader in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Director Research Unit of Indigenous Languages Email: racheln@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4227
Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Emeritus Tim McNamara Professor Emeritus in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: tfmcna@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4207
Assoc. Professor Carsten Roever Associate Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: carsten@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4919
Assoc. Professor Neomy Storch Associate Professor in Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Assoc. Professor Ute Knoch Associate Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Director Email: uknoch@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5206
Dr Chloe Diskin Senior Lecturer in Applied Linguistics Email: chloe.diskin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3676
Dr Olga Maxwell Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL) Email: omaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8754
Dr Janne Morton Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Dr Helen Zhao Lecturer in Applied Linguistics Email: helen.zhao@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4000
Dr Rosey Billington Postdoctoral Research Assistant in the ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: rbil@unimelb.edu.au
Josh Clothier Research Assistant - Language Testing Resource Centre and the Phonetics laboratory Email: joshuajc@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6383
Dr Lucinda Davidson Postdoctoral Fellow in Indigenous child Language Development Email: lucinda.davidson@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9192
Dr Rebecca Defina Postdoctoral Research Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: rebecca.defina@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5510
Dr Jason Fan Deputy Director, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: jinsongf@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8198
Dr Jennifer Green DECRA Research Fellow in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jag@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3255
Annemiek Huisman Research Fellow Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: annemiek.huisman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4389
Dr Debbie Loakes Postdoctoral Fellow, Researcher in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: dloakes@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4777
Dr John Mansfield Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: john.mansfield@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8715
Dr Sally O'Hagan Research Fellow Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: sohagan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3971
Angela McKenna Research Fellow, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: angela.mckenna@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
Ivy Chen Research Fellow, Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: ivy.chen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
Assoc. Professor Nick Thieberger Australian Research Council Future Fellow Email: thien@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8952
Dr Jill Vaughan ELDP Postdoctoral Fellow, Research Unit for Indigenous Language Email: j.vaughan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0909
Dr Steve Kelly Indigenous Postdoctoral Fellow Email: kellysw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4520
Assoc. Professor Catherine Elder Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: caelder@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Catrin Norrby Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: catrinn@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Elizabeth Pearce Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: elizabeth.h.pearce@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Celia Thompson Fellow (Honorary) Email: celiat@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ruth Singer Fellow (Honorary) Email: rsinger@unimelb.edu.au

Russian studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Robert Lagerberg Senior Lecturer in Russian Studies; Convenor of Russian Studies Email: robertjl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5187
Assoc. Professor Judith Armstrong Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.armstrong@unimelb.edu.au

Spanish and Latin American studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Lara Anderson Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: laraba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4917
Dr Mara Favoretto Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: mara.f@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5183
Professor Adrian Hearn Associate Professor in Latin American Studies Email: a.hearn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3295
Professor Alfredo Martinez-Exposito Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: alfredo.m@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Professor Anthony Pym Professor in Translation and Spanish Studies Email: anthony.pym@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6648
Dr Claudia Sandberg Senior Research Fellow Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Professor John Griffiths Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: jagrif@unimelb.edu.au

Professional

Staff memberPositionContact
Melissa Sharkey Manager, School of Languages and Linguistics Email: melissa.sharkey@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7319
Trudie Molloy Administrative Assistant Email: trudie.molloy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6642
Jen Graham-Williams Executive Assistant to Head of school and school Manager Email: jennifer.graham@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Belinda Hofmeyr Research Support Officer for the Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: belinda.hofmeyr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7626
Gavin Nebauer Audio Officer; Horwood Recording studio Manager Email: gavinjn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5195
Liza Lakusa Teaching and Research Officer Email: soll-research@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0334
Allyra Murray Project Officer, Research Unit for Indigenous Language Email: allyra.murray@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3311
Kathryn Weller Language Testing Research Centre Administrative Officer Email: k.weller@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2645
Leonie Elder Academic Programs Team Leader (Acting) Email: lelder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5419

Student enquiries

Undergraduate: Undergraduate students information and Stop 1

Graduate coursework: Coursework students information and Stop 1

Graduate research: Research students information and contact details

School address

School of Languages and Linguistics
Babel (Building 139)
The University of Melbourne
Parkville, VIC 3010
Australia