Staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Professor Alfredo Martinez-ExpositoHead of School, Languages and Linguistics; Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: alfredo.m@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Janne Morton Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of ESL Semester 1, 2018 Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Assoc. Professor Neomy Storch Associate Professor in Applied Linguistics and ESL; Convenor of ESL Semester 2, 2018 Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Dr Olga Maxwell Lecturer in ESL Email: omaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8754
Kellie Frost Lecturer in ESL Email: kmfrost@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 
+61 3 9035 4944
Maria Karidakis IAP Convenor Email: m.karidakis@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 0401347394 
Megan Tindley IAP Assistant Email: megan.tindley@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:  0400579025

European studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Andrew McGregor Lecturer in French Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8119

French studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Bertrand Bourgeois Lecturer in French Studies; Postgraduate Coordinator Languages Email: bbo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4504
Dr Tess Do Lecturer in French Studies Email: dot@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6987
Professor Véronique Duché A. R. Chisholm Professor of French; Convenor of French Studies Email: veronique.duche@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3516
Assoc. Professor Jacqueline Dutton Associate Professor in French Studies Email: jld@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6985
Dr Andrew McGregor Lecturer in French Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8119
Dr Henry Méra Senior Tutor in French Studies Email: hmera@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8129
Ms Diane de Saint-Léger Lecturer in French Studies Email: ddsl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6919
Professor Anne Freadman Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: freadman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5178
Professor Colin Nettelbeck Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: cnettel@unimelb.edu.au

German studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Heather Benbow Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of German Email: benbow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5102
Dr Leo Kretzenbacher Senior Lecturer in German Studies Email: heinz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 8344 5209
Assoc. Professor Birgit Lang Associate Professor in German Studies Email: langb@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7667
Professor Alison Lewis Professor in German Studies Email: lewisa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5103
Daniela Müeller DAAD Lecturer Email: daniela.mueller@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9756
Anne KruschDAAD AssistantEmail:  anne.krusch@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 98344000
Dr Claudia Sandberg Senior Research Fellow Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Leonetta Leopardi Teaching Specialist in German Studies Email: leopardi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone
:+61 3 9035 5672
Dr Doris Brigitte Schuepbach Fellow (Honorary) Email: dschu@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Gerhard Schulz Professor Emeritus (Honorary)  

Italian studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Mr Matthew Absalom Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: mabsalom@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6986
Ms Elisabetta Ferrari Senior Tutor in Italian Studies Email: eferrari@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5177
Dr Vita Giordano Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: vita@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7666
Professor John Hajek Professor in Italian Studies, Convenor of Italian studies Email: j.hajek@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5168
Dr Andrea Rizzi Australian Research Council Future Fellow 2014-2018 Email: arizzi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6984
Dr Malcolm Angelucci Cassamarca Senior Lecturer in Italian studies Email: malcolm.angelucci@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9404
Assoc. Professor Stephen Kolsky Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: sdkolsky@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jo-anne Hughson Fellow (Honorary) Email: hughson@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Roberta Trapè Fellow (Honorary) Email: r.trape@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Simon West Fellow (Honorary) Email: swest1@unimelb.edu.au
Antonella Cavallini Lecturer in Italian Studies - Italian Minstry of Foreign Affairs, Fellow (Honorary) Email: antonella.cavallini@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1942

Linguistics and Applied Linguistics

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Brett Baker Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: bjbaker@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4687
Dr Chloé Diskin Lecturer in Applied Linguistics Email: chloe.diskin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3676
Professor Janet Fletcher Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: janetf@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5190
Assoc. Professor Paul Gruba Associate Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Masters of Applied Linguistics Semester 1, 2018 Email: p.gruba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8973
Dr Peter Hurst Postdoctoral Fellow, Research Assistant Email: pthurst@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Barbara Kelly Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Languages and Linguistics Undergraduate Convenor Email: b.kelly@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8986
Honorary Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Emeritus Tim McNamaraHonoraryEmail: tfmcna@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4207
Dr Janne Morton Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of ESL Semester 1, 2018 Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Professor Rachel NordlingerDeputy Head of School Semester 1, 2018
Professor and Reader in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Director Research Unit of Indigenous Languages;
Email: racheln@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4227
Assoc. Professor Carsten Roever Associate Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Masters of Applied Linguistics Semester 2, 2018 Email: carsten@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4919
Professor Lesley StirlingDeputy Head of School Semester 2, 2018
Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics
Email: lesleyfs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5192
Assoc. Professor Neomy Storch Associate Professor in Applied Linguistics and ESL; Convenor of ESL Semester 2, 2018 Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Gillian Wigglesworth Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics, Discipline Chair of Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Postgraduate Coordinator Languages and Linguistics Email: g.wigglesworth@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4215
Annemiek Huisman Research Fellow LTRC Email: annemiek.huisman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4389
Josh Clothier Research Assistant - Language Testing Resource Centre and the Phonetics laboratory Email: joshuajc@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6383
Brighde Collins Research Unit for Indigenous Language Project Officer Email: brighde.collins@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3311
Dr Rebecca Defina Postdoctoral Research Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: rebecca.defina@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5510
Dr Jennifer Green DECRA Research Fellow in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jag@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3255
Assoc. Professor Ute Knoch Associate Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Director Email: uknoch@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5206
Dr Debbie Loakes Postdoctoral Fellow, Researcher in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: dloakes@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4777
Dr John Mansfield Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: john.mansfield@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8715
Dr Rosey BillingtonPostdoctoral Research Assistant in the ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of LanguageEmail: rbil@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 83440914
Dr Olga Maxwell Lecturer in ESL Email: omaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8754 
Dr Sally O'Hagan Research Fellow Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: sohagan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3971
Dr Stefan Schnell Postdoctoral Fellow in Linguistics in the ARC Centre of excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: stefan.schnell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1758
Assoc. Professor Nick Thieberger Australian Research Council Future Fellow Email: thien@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8952
Assoc. Professor Catherine Elder Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: caelder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
+61 3 8344 5180
Professor Catrin Norrby Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: catrinn@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ruth Singer Fellow (Honorary) Email: rsinger@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3774
Dr Hywel StoakesFellow (Honorary)Email: hstoakes@unimelb.edu.au
Elizabeth PearceFellow (Honorary)Email: elizabeth.h.pearce@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 044635616 
Dr Cris Edmonds-Wathen Research Unit for Indigenous Language Postdoctoral Fellow Email: c.edmonds@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0476
Professor Jin Yan Professor Language Testing (Asia Scholars Program) Email: jin.y@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3586
Dr Timothy Brickell ELDP Postdoctoral Fellow Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: timothy.brickell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 
+61 3 83443612

Russian studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Robert Lagerberg Senior Lecturer in Russian Studies; Convenor of Russian Studies Email: robertjl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5187
Assoc. Professor Judith Armstrong Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.armstrong@unimelb.edu.au

Spanish and Latin American studies

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Lara Anderson Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies, Convenor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Semester 1, 2018 Email: laraba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4917
Dr Mara Favoretto Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies; Convenor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Semester 2, 2018       Email: mara.f@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5183
Assoc. Professor Adrian Hearn Associate Professor in Latin American Studies Email: a.hearn@unimelb.edu.au  
Phone: +61 3 8344 3295
Professor Alfredo Martinez-ExpositoHead of School Languages and Linguistics; Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: alfredo.m@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Professor Anthony Pym Professor in Translation and Spanish Studies Email: anthony.pym@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6648
Dr Claudia Sandberg Senior Research Fellow Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Professor John Griffiths Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: jagrif@unimelb.edu.au

Professional

Staff memberPositionContact
Position currently vacantManager, School of Languages and LinguisticsEmail: 
Phone: 
Trudie Molloy Administrative Assistant Email: trudie.molloy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6642
Jen Graham-Williams Executive Assistant to Head of school and school Manager Email: jennifer.graham@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Belinda Hofmeyr Research Support Officer for the Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: belinda.hofmeyr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7626
Gavin Nebauer Audio Officer; Horwood Recording studio Manager Email: gavinjn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5195
Liza Lakusa Teaching and Research Officer Email: soll-research@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 439 687 787
Kathryn Weller Language Testing Research Centre Administrative Officer Email: k.weller@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2645
Wendy Yap Academic Programs Team Leader Email: yapw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 83445419

Student enquiries

Undergraduate: Undergraduate students information and Stop 1

Graduate coursework: Coursework students information and Stop 1

Graduate research: Research students information and contact details

School address

School of Languages and Linguistics

Babel (Building 139)
The University of Melbourne
Parkville, VIC 3010
Australia