Our staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Professor Karen Farquharson Head of School  Email: karen.farquharson@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6220

Anthropology and Development Studies academic staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Kalissa Alexeyeff Senior Lecturer in Gender Studies Email: k.alexeyeff@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9970
Dr Ana Carballo Teaching Specialist Email: ana.carballo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4724
Professor Anthony D'Costa Chair in Contemporary Indian Studies Email: adcosta@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6161
Dr Cameo Dalley McArthur Postdoctoral Fellow Email: cameo.dalley@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3643
Professor Andrew Dawson Chair in Social Anthropology Email: dawsona@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4201
Dr Isabelle De Solier ARC DECRA Senior Research FellowEmail: i.de@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 9035 5786
Dr Anne DecobertLecturer in Development PolicyEmail: anne.decobert@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 9035 8747
Dr Rachael Diprose Lecturer in Indonesian Studies Email: rdiprose@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3757
Dr Bina Fernandez Senior Lecturer in Development Studies Email: bina.fernandez@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3205
Dr Erin Fitz-Henry Senior Lecturer in Social and Cultural Anthropology Email: erinfh@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5982
Dr Paul Green Lecturer in Social and Cultural Anthropology Email: pgreen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4281
Professor Akhil Gupta Professor of Anthropology and Development Studies - Asia Scholar Scheme Email: akhil.gupta@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Ghassan Hage Professor in Anthropology and Social Theory   Email: ghage@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8834
Dr Lan Anh Hoang Senior Lecturer in Development Studies Email: lahoang@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4610
Dr Dolly Kikon Lecturer in Development Studies Email: dolly.kikon@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Elise Klein Senior Lecturer in Development Studies Email: elise.klein@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Bart Klem ARC Discovery Early Career ResearcherEmail: bart.klem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3105
Assoc. Professor Tamara Kohn Associate Professor in AnthropologyEmail: tkohn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6676
Dr Hannah McCann Lecturer in Gender Studies (MECAF) Email: hannah.mccann@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6676
Dr Nadeem Malik Senior Lecturer in Development Studies Email: malikn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0070
Dr Fabio Mattioli Lecturer in Social Anthropology Email: fabio.mattioli@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1291
Dr. Debra McDougall Senior Lecturer in Anthropology Email: debra.mcdougall@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5648
Dr Monica Minnegal Associate Professor in AnthropologyEmail: mmam@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4708
Dr Violeta Schubert Lecturer in Development Studies      Email: violetas@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5089
Assoc. Professor Hans Baer Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: hbaer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9895
Dr Denis Dragovic Fellow (Honorary) Email: denis.dragovic@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Jonathan Goodhand Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.goodhand@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Michael Herzfeld Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: herzfeld@wjh.harvard.edu
Mr Steve Fisher Fellow (Honorary) Email: sfisher@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Salim Kassim-Lakha Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: salim@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Amie Kirkham Fellow (Honorary) Email: amie.kirkham@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Martha MacIntyre Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: marthaam@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Robert Nurick Fellow (Honorary) Email: robert.nurick@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ian Patrick Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: ipatrick@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Daniel Perkins Fellow (Honorary) Email: d.perkins@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Yadira Perez Fellow (Honorary) Email: yadira.perez@unimelb.edu.au 
Dr Melissa Phillips Fellow (Honorary) Email: phim@unimelb.edu.au

Criminology academic staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Assoc. Professor Jennifer Balint Associate Professor in Socio-Legal StudiesEmail: jbalint@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3352
Assoc. Professor John Fitzgerald Associate Professor in Criminology Email: jlfitz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5173
Professor Fiona Haines Professor in CriminologyEmail: f.haines@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6563
Dr Diana Johns Lecturer in Criminology Email: diana.johns@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5394
Dr. Claire Loughnan Teaching Specialist Email: clairebl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6119
Dr Dave McDonald Lecturer in Criminology Email: mcdj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9508
Dr Nesam McMillan Lecturer in Global Criminology Email: nesamcm@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3484
Professor Alison Young Francine V McNiff Chair in Criminology Email: ayoung@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6569
Dr Juliet Rogers Senior Lecturer in Criminology Email: juliet.rogers@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7945
Professor Stuart Ross Melbourne Enterprise Professor in CriminologyEmail: rosssr1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3445
Dr Mark Wood Lecturer in Criminology (MECAF) Email: mark.wood@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4000
Dr Mark Brown Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: mark.brown@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Julie EvansPrincipal Fellow (Honorary)Email: j.evans@unimelb.edu.au
Tamar Hopkins Fellow (Honorary) Email: tamar.hopkins@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Steve James Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: spj@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Yvonne Jewkes Fellow (Honorary) Email: yvonne.jewkes@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Ian LoaderProfessorial Fellow (Honorary)Email: ian.loader@unimelb.edu.au
Dr James PettyFellow (Honorary)Email: j.petty@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Ken Polk Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: kpolk@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Mayumi Purvis Fellow (Honorary) Email: mpurvis@unimelb.edu.au

Political Science academic staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Assoc. Professor Catherine Althaus Associate Professor in Political ScienceEmail: catherine.althaus@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Erik Baekkeskov Senior Lecturer in Public Policy Email: ebaekkeskov@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Azad Singh Bali Lecturer in Public Policy (MECAF) Email: a.bali@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Michael Breen McKenzie Postdoctoral Fellow Email: michael.breen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
+61 3 8344 6586
Dr Scott Brenton Senior Lecturer in Politics       Email: sbrenton@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8001
Dr Michelle CarmodyLecturer in Latin American StudiesEmail: carmody@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3184
Dr Clayton Chin Lecturer in Political Theory Email: clayton.chin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9548
Professor Robyn Eckersley Professor in Political ScienceEmail: r.eckersley@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3504
Dr Trevor Findlay Senior Research FellowEmail: tfindlay@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Roberto Foa Lecturer in Political Science      Email: roberto.foa@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Tim Gravelle Lecturer in Political Science Research Methods Email: tim.gravelle@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Kris Hartley Lecturer in Public Policy (MECAF)      Email: kris.hartley@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4751
Adam Hannah Teaching Specialist Email: hannah.a@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7968
Dr Julia HurstIndigenous Postdoctoral Fellow Email: julia.hurst@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9990
Professor John Langmore Professional Expert in International Relations and Development Studies Email: langmore@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9467
Professor Jenny Lewis Professor in Political ScienceEmail: jmlewis@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5194
Professor Adrian Little Professor in Political Science Email: little@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8969
Assoc. Professor Timothy Lynch Associate Professor in American Politics Email: tlynch@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4059
Dr Kate Macdonald Senior Lecturer in Public Policy       Email: kmac@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3442
Dr Terry Macdonald Senior Lecturer in International Relations Email: terry.macdonald@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7690
Assoc. Professor Sarah Maddison Associate Professor in Political Science      Email: sarah.maddison@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4552
Dr Aaron Martin Senior Lecturer in Political Science Research Methods                                                          ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Email: aaron.martin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6837
Dr Daniel McCarthy Lecturer in International Relations Email: daniel.mccarthy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3723
Dr Sara Meger Lecturer in International Relations Email: sara.meger@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8287
Dr Nikki MoodieLecturer in Indigenous StudiesEmail: nikki.moodie@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9217
Professor John Murphy Professor in Political ScienceEmail: john.murphy1@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3670
Professor Philomena Murray Professor in Political ScienceEmail: pbmurray@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5151
Dr Sana Nakata Lecturer in Political Science                               ARC Discovery Indigenous ResearcherEmail: snakata@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6559
Dr Evgeny Postnikov Lecturer in International Relations      Email: evgeny.postnikov@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1279
Dr Lauren Rosewarne Senior Lecturer in Public Policy      Email: lrose@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6820
Dr Pradeep Taneja Lecturer in Asian Politics Email: ptaneja@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6585
Professor Andrew Walter Professor in International Relations      Email: andrew.walter@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9633
Dr Carla WinstonLecturer in International RelationsEmail: carla.winston@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9633
Dr Michael McGann ARC Research Fellow Email: mmcgann@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Sally Young Professor in Political ScienceEmail: s.young@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6586
Dr Wayne Atkinson Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: waynera@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Yehudi Blacher Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: yehudi.blacher@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Emma BlomkampFellow (Honorary)Email: blomkamp.e@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Ann Capling Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: ann.capling@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Michael Crozier Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: mcrozier@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Phillip Darby Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: pgcd@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Thomas Davis Fellow (Honorary) Email: tdavis@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Michael Di Francesco Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: m.difrancesco@anzsog.edu.au
Professor Brian Galligan Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: galligan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
+61 3 8344 3440
Mr Petro Georgiou Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: petro.georgiou@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
+61 3 9035 6517
Professor Les Holmes Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: leslieth@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Brian Howe Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: bhowe@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Sheila Jeffreys Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: sheila@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sarah Logan Fellow (Honorary) Email: sarah.logan@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Lachlan McKenzieFellow (Honorary)Email: lachlan.mckenzie@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Margherita Matera Fellow (Honorary) Email: m.matera@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Derek McDougall Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: d.mcdougall@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Travers McLeod Fellow (Honorary) Email: traversm@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Christopher Lamb Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: lamb.c@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Allan PatiencePrincipal Fellow (Honorary)Email: allan.patience@unimelb.edu.au
Professor John Power Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: john.power@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5133
Mr Andrew Reeves Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: andrew.reeves1@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Ashton Robinson Honorary Fellow (Honorary) Email: ashton.robinson@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Richard Tanter Fellow (Honorary)

Email: richard.tanter@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Sandy Ross Fellow (Honorary) Email: rossda@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Garry Woodard Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: g.woodard@unimelb.edu.au

Sociology, Social Policy and Social Theory academic staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Dr Ashley BarnwellLecturer in Sociology Email: ashley.barnwell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4559
Professor Simon Biggs Professorial Fellow in Social Policy and Gerontology Email: biggss@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5970
Dr Brendan Churchill Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: brendan.churchill@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5636
Professor Lyn Craig Professor of Sociology and Social Policy Email: lyn.craig@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7840
Dr Liz Dean Teaching Specialist Email: ldean@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 53416
Assoc. Professor Belinda Hewitt Associate Professor in Sociology Email: belinda.hewitt@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Max Holleran Lecturer in Sociology (MECAF) Email: max.holleran@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9771
Dr Rennie Lee Lecturer in Sociology (MECAF) Email: rennie.lee@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Shelley Mallett Professorial Fellow in Social Policy Email: s.mallett@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1903
Professor Keith McVilly Professorial Fellow in Disability and Inclusion      Email: keith.mcvilly@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5366
Assoc. Professor Irma Mooi-Reci Associate Professor in Social Policy      Email: irma.mooi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4809
Dr Barbara Barbosa Neves Senior Lecturer in Sociology Email: barbara.barbosa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3045
Dr Signe Ravn Lecturer in Sociology                                               ARC Discovery Early Career ResearcherEmail: signe.ravn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0399
Assoc. Professor Dan Woodman TR Ashworth Assoc. Professor in Sociology           ARC Discovery Early Career ResearcherEmail: dan.woodman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9081
Assoc. Professor Jens Zinn TR Ashworth Assoc. Professor in Sociology Email: jzinn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3533
Mr Ashley Carr Research Fellow - NHMRC Email: ashley.carr@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Leah Ruppanner Senior Lecturer in Sociology Email: lruppanner@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7454
Dr Marcus Banks Fellow (Honorary) Email: marcus.banks@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Dina Bowman Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: dinab@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Petra Bueskens Fellow (Honorary) Email: petra.bueskens@unimelb.edu.au
Dr John Cash Fellow (Honorary) Email: johndc@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Emma Dawson Fellow (Honorary) Email: edawson1@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Peter Gibilisco Fellow (Honorary) Email: pgib@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ben Gook Fellow (Honorary) Email: benjamin.gook@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Nick Hagiliassis Fellow (Honorary) Email: nick.hagiliassis@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Helen Kimberley Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: helen.kimberley@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Geoffrey Mead Fellow (Honorary) Email: grmead@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Warwick Smith Fellow (Honorary) Email: smith.w@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Paul Smyth Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: smythp@unimelb.edu.au
Profressor Philip Taylor Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: philip.taylor@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ani Wierenga Senior Fellow (Honorary) Email: anitra.ca@unimelb.edu.au

Professional staff

Staff memberPositionContact
Ms Cathy Alizzi Administrative Assistant Email: calizzi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6565
Ms Julie Anderson

Scope-University of Melbourne Partnership Coordinator

Email: julie.anderson@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4087
Ms Jo Helsby Team Leader, Academic Programs Email: jhelsby@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8431
Dr Lisa MacKinney BSL Partnership Support Officer/APSA Executive Assistant Email: lisa.mackinney@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0891
Ms Adele Marum Research Support Officer Email: adele.marum@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0711
Ms Natalie Reitmier School Manager Email: nataliem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9953
Ms Lauren Sanders Executive Assistant and Events Officer Email: lsanders@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0472
Ms Leonora Stroscio Academic Programs Officer Email: leonoras@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7356