Our people

Our staff

General enquiries

Professor Ute Knoch Director +61 3 8344 5206 uknoch@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Jason FanDeputy Director +61 3 8344 8198 jinsong.fan@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Kathryn Weller Research Centre Administrative Officer +61 3 8344 2645 k.weller@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Annemiek Huisman Administrative Officer and Research Fellow +61 3 8344 4389 annemiek.huisman@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Rohan Chandran Test Development Specialist  rohanc@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ivy Chen Research Fellow +61 3 9035 7695 ivy.chen@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Michelle Czajkowski Research Fellow  michelle.czajkowski@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sally O’Hagan Research Fellow +61 3 9035 3971 sohagan@unimelb.edu.au

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board has a membership of highly regarded industry representatives, external to the university and high level internal colleagues.

Advisory Board terms of reference

The Advisory Board Terms of Reference are to:

  • provide expert external advice on current LTRC projects
  • comment on proposed new LTRC projects
  • advise on strategic opportunities for research and consultancy work
  • advise on current issues and trends in industry, government and education
  • assist with dissemination of research outcomes and applications
  • assist in raising awareness of LTRC expertise within the University of Melbourne, in the wider tertiary sector and beyond
  • review the terms of reference of the advisory group on an annual basis
  • Advisory Board members
    • Helen Zimmerman (Chair) Advisor, Navitas; Past President, International Education Association of Australia
    • Gabriella Bertolissi – Immediate Past President, Modern Language Teachers' Association of Victoria (MLTAV)
    • Brett Blacker – Chief Executive Director, English Australia
    • Associate Professor Russell Cross – Associate Professor in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), Melbourne Graduate School of Education
    • Penny Addison – Director, Learning and Teaching Branch, Department of Education and Training
    • Associate Professor Cathie Elder – Principal Fellow (Honorary), School of Languages and Linguistics, University of Melbourne
    • Robert Foote – Manager, Development, National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI)
    • Anna Ivanova – Head of Development, Australian Defence Force School of Languages
    • Kathy Kirby – Director of the Asia Education Foundation (AEF)
    • Professor Joe Lobianco – Professor of Language and Literacy Education (Honorary), Melbourne Graduate School of Education, University of Melbourne
    • Professor Tim McNamara – Professor Emeritus in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics (Honorary), School of Languages and Linguistics, University of Melbourne
    • Professor Alfredo Martinez-Esposito – Professor In Spanish Languages And Linguistics, School of Languages and Linguistics, University of Melbourne
    • Mark Melican – Principal, Blackburn English Language School
    • Associate Professor Angela Scarino – Director, Research Centre for Languages and Cultures, University of South Australia
  • LTRC Associates