Dean's welcome

Welcome to the Faculty of Arts - the original and oldest faculty at The University of Melbourne. We are a diverse faculty with a common commitment to innovation and community engagement.

Staff list

The Faculty secretariat comprises a number of units, among them the Office of the Dean, Arts Student Centre and Arts Business Centre. View the list of staff.


The Faculty comprises five schools that deliver an array of subjects. The Asia Institute and the schools of Culture and Communication, Historical and Philosophical Studies, Languages and Linguistics and Social and Political Sciences.


The Faculty is made up of five academic schools and two graduate schools.