Staff

Staff member PositionContact
Professor Alfredo Martinez-ExpositoHead of School of Languages and Linguistics; Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: alfredo.m@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Staff member PositionContact
Assoc. Professor Janne Morton Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Assoc. Professor Neomy Storch Associate Professor in Applied Linguistics and ESL; Convenor of ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Dr Celia Thompson Lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: celiat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5488

European studies

Staff member PositionContact
Dr Heather Benbow Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: benbow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5102

French studies

Staff member PositionContact
Dr Bertrand Bourgeois Lecturer in French Studies Email: bbo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4504
Dr Tess Do Lecturer in French Studies Email: dot@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6987
Professor Véronique Duché A. R. Chisholm Professor of French; Convenor of French Email: veronique.duche@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3516
Assoc. Professor Jacqueline Dutton Associate Professor in French Studies Email: jld@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6985
Dr Andrew McGregor Lecturer in French Studies Email: ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8119
Dr Henry Méra Senior Tutor in French Studies Email: hmera@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8129
Ms Diane de Saint-Léger Associate Lecturer in French Studies Email: ddsl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6919
Professor Anne Freadman Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: freadman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5178
Professor Colin Nettelbeck Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: cnettel@unimelb.edu.au

German studies

Staff member PositionContact
Dr Heather Benbow Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: benbow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5102
Dr Leo Kretzenbacher Senior Lecturer in German StudiesEmail: heinz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 8344 5209
Assoc. Professor Birgit Lang Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of German Email: langb@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7667
Professor Alison Lewis Languages Discipline Chair Email: lewisa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5103
Daniela Mueller DAAD Lecturer Email: daniela.mueller@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9756
Dennis Tunnat DAAD Language Assistant Email: dennis.tunnat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4675
Dr Claudia Sandberg Senior Research Fellow Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Dr Esther Jilovsky Fellow (Honorary) Email: estherj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3826
Dr Doris Brigitte Schuepbach Fellow (Honorary) Email: dschu@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Gerhard Schulz Professor Emeritus (Honorary)  

Italian studies

Staff member PositionContact
Mr Matthew Absalom Associate Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: mabsalom@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6986
Ms Elisabetta Ferrari Senior Tutor in Italian Studies Email: eferrari@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5177
Dr Vita Giordano Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: vita@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7666
Professor John Hajek Professor in Italian Studies Email: j.hajek@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5168
Dr Andrea Rizzi Australian Research Council Future Fellow 2014-2018Email: arizzi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6984
Dr Malcolm AngelucciCassamarca Senior Lecturer in Italian studiesEmail: malcolm.angelucci@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9404
Assoc. Professor Stephen Kolsky Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: sdkolsky@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ali Ahad Fellow (Honorary) Email: a.ahad@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jo-anne Hughson Fellow (Honorary) Email: hughson@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Roberta Trapè Fellow (Honorary) Email: r.trape@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Simon West Fellow (Honorary) Email: swest1@unimelb.edu.au
Antonella CavalliniLecturer in Italian Studies - Italian Minstry of Foreign Affairs, Fellow (Honorary)Email: antonella.cavallini@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1942

Linguistics and Applied Linguistics

Staff member PositionContact
Dr Brett Baker Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: bjbaker@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4687
Professor Janet Fletcher Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: janetf@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5190
Assoc. Professor Paul Gruba Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Applied Linguistics Email: p.gruba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8973
Dr Peter Hurst Postdoctoral Fellow, Research Assistant Email: pthurst@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Barbara Kelly Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Linguistics, Undergraduate Coordinator Email: b.kelly@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8986
Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Tim Mcnamara Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: tfmcna@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4207
Dr Janne Morton Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Dr Jean Mulder Convener of Intensive Academic Program (IAP), Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jmulder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7160
Assoc. Professor Rachel Nordlinger Associate Professor and Reader in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics, Director Research Unit of Indigenous Languages Email: racheln@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4227
Assoc. Professor Carsten RoeverAssociate Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics,Email: carsten@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4919
Professor Lesley StirlingDeputy Head of School; Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: lesleyfs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5192
Assoc. Professor Neomy Storch Associate Professor in Applied Linguistics and ESL; Convenor of ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Dr Celia Thompson Lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: celiat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5488
Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor Gillian Wigglesworth Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics, Discipline Chair of Linguistics and Applied LinguisticsEmail: g.wigglesworth@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4215
Annemiek Huisman Research Fellow LTRCEmail: annemiek.huisman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4389
Josh Clothier Research Assistant Email: joshuajc@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6383
Brighde Collins RUIL Project Officer Email: brighde.collins@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3311
Dr Rebecca Defina Postdoctoral Research Fellow, ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language Email: rebecca.defina@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5510
Dr Susan Douglas Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: sdouglas@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3608
Ms Kellie Frost Research Assistant LTRC Email: kmfrost@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4944
Dr Jennifer Green ARC Research Fellow in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jag@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3255
Dr Ute KnochLanguage and Teaching Research Centre (LTRC) Director; Senior Research Fellow in LTRC Email: uknoch@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5206
Dr Debbie Loakes Postdoctoral Fellow, Researcher in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: dloakes@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4777
Dr John Mansfield RUIL Postdoctoral Research FellowEmail: john.mansfield@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8715
Olga Maxwell Researcher Email: omaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sally O'Hagan Research Fellow in the Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: sohagan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3971
Dr John Pill Research Fellow in the Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: tpill@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9763
Dr Stefan Schnell Postdoctoral Fellow In Linguistics Email: stefan.schnell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1758
Dr Ruth Singer DECRA Postdoctoral Fellow, Research Unit for Indigenous Language Email: rsinger@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3774
Dr Nick Thieberger Australian Research Council Future Fellow Email: thien@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8952
Assoc. Professor Catherine Elder Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: caelder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone:
+61 3 8344 5180
Dr Kathryn Hill Fellow (Honorary) Email: kmhill@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4708
Professor Catrin Norrby Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: catrinn@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Yvette Slaughter Fellow (Honorary) Email: ymslau@unimelb.edu.au  
Phone: +61 3 9035 9724
Dr Cris Edmonds-Wathen RUIL Postdoctoral Fellow Email: c.edmonds@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0476
Professor Jin YanProfessor Language Testing (Asia Scholars Program)Email: jin.y@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3586
Dr Anna StephenPostdoctoral FellowEmail: anna.stephen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 589

Russian studies

Staff member PositionContact
Dr Robert Lagerberg Senior Lecturer in Russian Studies Email: robertjl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5187
Assoc. Professor Judith Armstrong Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.armstrong@unimelb.edu.au

Spanish and Latin American studies

Staff member PositionContact
Dr Lara Anderson Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: laraba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4917
Dr Mara Favoretto Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: mara.f@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5183
Assoc. Professor Adrian Hearn Associate Professor in Latin American Studies, Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow Email: a.hearn@unimelb.edu.au  
Phone: +61 3 8344 3295
Professor Alfredo Martinez-ExpositoHead of School of Languages and Linguistics; Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: alfredo.m@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Dr Claudia Sandberg Senior Research Fellow Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Ms Maria Paola Gonzalez Sepulveda Lecturer in Spanish Email: mp.gonzalez@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6118
Professor John Griffiths Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: jagrif@unimelb.edu.au

Professional

Staff member PositionContact
Charlotte Morgans Manager in the School of Languages and Linguistics Email: c.morgans@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3612
Emma van der Gaag Administrative Assistant Email: e.van@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6642
Jen Graham-Williams Executive Assistant Email: jennifer.graham@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Belinda Hofmeyr Research Support Officer for the Centre of Excellence for Dynamics of Language Email: belinda.hofmeyr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7626
Gavin Nebauer Audio Officer Email: gavinjn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5195
Leticia Nieuwenhuizen Teaching and Research Officer Email: leticia.nieuwenhuizen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7407
Kathryn Weller LTRC Administrative Officer Email: k.weller@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2645
Rebecca Mestroni Academic Programs Team Leader Email: rebecca.mestroni@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5419

Student enquiries

Undergraduate: Undergraduate students information and Stop 1

Graduate coursework: Coursework students information and Stop 1

Graduate research: Research students information and contact details

School address

School of Languages and Linguistics

Babel (Building 139)
The University of Melbourne
Parkville, VIC 3010
Australia